Children: the Gift that Keeps on Giving

hipster please!!!

Children are a gift from God; they are a reward from him. Psalm 127:3

This may sound cliché but I will never forget the day my first daughter Victoria was born. To put it in perspective I was young, only 21. Lorie and I were still sorting out what we wanted to do with our lives. Needless to say there was a lot of uncertainty and anxiety.

That day had been overcast and foggy, which is typical for Central Newfoundland in June. Other family members were at the hospital awaiting the arrival. There was nothing unusual about the birth and before I knew what hit me, boom, I was a dad. There were tears, laughter, hugs, and handshakes.

After my daughter was cleaned up and passed to her mommy, it was my turn to hold Victoria. As I held my daughter for the first time I walked to the window as if to give her a view of the wonderful world she was now part of. As I did the clouds parted and the fog lifted and the room was bathed in sunlight. In that moment I said a prayer, making a promise to do all in my power to love and care for this child. I felt the weight of her in my arms and the weight of the responsibility and gift in my heart.

Not only did I receive the gift of a child that day, though that would have been gift enough for me. No God blesses more abundantly than that, even more than we could ask or imagine. On that day I also received a purpose, something to live for. This tiny gift in my arms helped me see beyond myself to something much greater. It was at this moment that the faint sense of vocational calling that I had felt for some time came sharply into focus. Shortly afterwards I entered theological school. God gives good gifts, and I am reminded of that every time I look at my children.

Leave a Reply

