A Few Words from Our Sponsors

Welcome to my blog, my second attempt at this. A few words of explanation and introduction might be in order.

First, the title of my blog. Some of you may recognize the title is a play on the neo-orthodox title that was given to the work of theologian Karl Barth. Barth was never really liked by the conservatives of his day, because they said he was too liberal, or by the liberals either, because you guessed it, he was too conservative for them. I’ve always dug that about Barth so I’m using that title for my blog. Of course neo means new, and orthodox means right belief or thought. I have added the (un) to show that I make no claims to such “right belief.” In fact people who claim to be orthodox make me a little nervous. By that I do not mean the Orthodox Church in any of its variations (i.e. Russian, Coptic, Greek, etc.). Its just that I make no claims to having it all figured out. I’m just a pilgrim like everyone else.

Second, a few words about myself. In good postmodernist form I should disclose all my biases. I am a white, heterosexual, graduate educated, male living in Canada. I am married with two daughters. I am a parish priest with the Anglican Church of Canada in the Diocese of Eastern Newfoundland and Labrador. Theologically I describe myself has post-evangelical (aka: recovering evangelical) and post-liberal; if you are wondering what that means stayed tuned. Politically I am left of centre (think NDP but not officially). I am a hope filled fan of the Toronto Maple Leafs, proud owner of the best dog in the world, and a lover of all things pop culture.

In this blog I will share my thoughts on life, faith, religion, politics and other topics that are best left untouched in mixed company. I hope you will join me and perhaps be comforted, challenged, or confused by something I write here.

Leave a Reply

